Why Iphones Are One of the Most Irritating Advances in Technology

25 Nov

Riding the train is a normal part of my weekly routine. It has been this way for years, starting with my freshman year of college, and hasn’t shown any signs of ebbing. As such, I have long found myself tucking away my ipod for crochet hooks, and my books for people watching. (Mainly for paranoia’s sake, as news of weirder and worse happenings pop up more frequently in the news and I don’t want to be caught off gaurd.) Yet, what I notice more and more often as I glance around the crowds of faces on the T, is down turned faces with slightly unfocused eyes and ever-scrolling fingers. The ever-popular Iphone used to be hard to come by, reserved for people who had that sort of money to spend and felt the need to impress their peers. Now, it’s everywhere–and everyone seems to have it. (Most recently both of my parents have adopted one of their own little monstrosities.)

At first, I went along with the idea that they were cool. I mean, what could be so bad about a phone combined with massive internet capability and a music player? A lot, apparently. As more people obtained these irritating phones, I found more people on the train would blast music from them (usually irritatingly bad rap music saturated with curses that make you uncomfortable, especially if there are children or elderly women nearby.) and would forgo their provided ear buds. It makes me furious. It’s rude and inconsiderate of their fellow passengers. But this is not my only qualm with these annoying gadgets.

I miss normal conversations with people. Before the infestation of the Iphone, I could go out to dinner with a group of close friends, or a loved one and have real conversations. Intelligent conversations. Now, I long for those days as the Iphone invades the tables. More often than not, conversations lack significant eye contact as whoever you are at the table with fiddles with their phone; texting or forever scrolling through their memes or random photos they have taken of themselves or their food in the past week. They are distracted–and when you cease talking, a horrible awkward silence in which you can only hear the sound of their skin against the phone screen fills the air. (Or more upsetting, is when during this break in conversation, the iphone owner suddenly laughs at something on their phone–and it is the only interest they have shown in anything all evening.) If the silence goes on for too long, that Iphone person will lean across the table to you to show you whatever it is they are looking at on their phone, as it is clearly more interesting than–whatever it was you had just been talking about by yourself.

No one listens anymore. No one really talks or communicates. And no one gives their full attention to anything. Sometimes, I feel I could be on fire beside someone with an iphone, and they would only stop to take a photo of me to add to their creepy scrolling collection.

 

Leave a Reply

